Iowa State University of Science and Technology

Student Engagement: Get Involved! 

Student Engagement

Andrea Gibson w/Chastity Brown and Valin

February 1, 2018, 8:00 PM

The Maintenance Shop

Doors open at 7:30pm 
 *(Priority seating for ISU Students & their guests)*
scroll down for additional ticket info

Genre: Spoken Word  | For Fans Of: Buddy Wakefield, Ani DiFranco, Mary Lambert


Andrea Gibson image


One of the most celebrated and successful poets in the field began their career in 1999 with a break-up poem at an open mic in Boulder, Colorado. Gibson then leaped into the forefront of spoken word poetry on the national scene in 2008 when they won the first ever Woman of the WorldPoetry Slam.

Author of three collections of poetry and currently working on an illustrated collection of their most memorable quotes for Penguin (Winter 2018), Andrea (they/them/their) has also released seven (7) full-length albums. The most recent album, HEY GALAXY (Jan 2018) was created in the midst of another project as a result of the current political upheaval in the United State. Gibson was working on an album entirely about love, accompanied by an orchestra, but after the 2016 presidential election they felt moved to put forth a more social justice-oriented project. "There's a quote that says, "Art should comfort the disturbed and disturb the comfortable. I wanted to do that. I wanted to make something political and human and gusty in its revolt. Something beautiful in its sweetness and rage and vulnerability. Something loud and tender at the same time".

Chasity Brown and Valin will open the show  


Purchase tickets in person at the M-Shop Box Office or over the phone at 515-294-8349 (M-F 11am-5pm).
A $1 service fee will be added to all telephone orders. Tickets also available online via MidwesTIX
A 3% service fee added to all online orders. 
All tickets are subject to an additional $2 MidwesTIX fee.
Most tickets increase $2 on the day of the show. Click here for full ticket information / policies.


« Back

Copyright © 1995-2023, Iowa State University of Science and Technology. All rights reserved.